We’re Still Here (2015): First Impressions

we-are-still-here-posterFIRST IMPRESSIONS RATING:9/10

This “First Impressions” review contains no spoilers.

After my twitter feed alerted me to this movie I was surprised to find out there was a big difference between audience (51%) and critics (95%) ratings on the Rotten Tomatoes website. After reading some other reviews I decided I definitely needed to see the movie.

An older couple moves into a haunted house after their son’s death. This scenario is not sound particularly original. The movie starts slowly, but the tempo is not dragging and I did not find myself wishing it would go any faster. I enjoy slower introductions because it makes you almost forget that there is any danger or threat at all.

However, one of the jumpscares happens early in the movie and it quickly reminds you that you are watching a horror movie. This particular jumpscare is not cheesy and I loved the timing of all jumpscares which is crucial and can make or break a movie. I was even tempted to turn the movie off as it was late and I was watching it in complete darkness. I opted for turning the lights on and continued watching the movie. After the monsters are revealed they are still scary although in a different way. You can see them quite well and for longer periods of time but what they still maintain the uncanny vibe because their motivation and boundaries are unknown. What will they do and won’t do? 

While the first part of the movie introduces the family, the second part established the role of the villagers and their friends in the story. I like that almost all characters are adults, not teenagers. This gives the movie a different vibe than It Follows (2015), which shares some characteristics with this movie but I will write about it in my detailed review which will include spoilers. The performances were good but I would also like to get more into it after I will have seen the movie for the second time.

Situating the story in a little town with inhabitants who are not your friends from day one adds to the overal feeling of separation that is much like that experienced in Rosemary’s Baby (1968) or even Invasion of the Body Snatchers (1978) to supply some examples that come to my mind right now. The villagers are a diverse group when it comes to their participation in a witchhunt-like activities which makes them less and more threatening at the same time because there is a contrast between them, too. 

“That house probably has more demons than the Book of Revelations.”

 

Altough some information about the curse is released, some facts remain unexplained which I appreciated. I am not a fan of movies which explain everything. I like to  remain in the darkness at least partially.

The gore was more than acceptable, make up artists did a good job and I enjoyed the bloody fireworks and the sound of blood escaping the human body was strangely soothing and disturbing at the same time. I am a sucker for the uncanny and everything even remotely related to body horror. 

We’re Still Here was a great watching experience and I cannot wait to watch it again and again. I was not bored and was excited about the story. The ending was mostly satisfying but I will definitely want to write more about it later as I am not sure if I can write about it now without revealing too much. I was not disappointed though. One of the questions that I will want to ask myself is if this movie is about trauma of losing a loved one, as Babadook (2014), and how well it deals with the theme.

It is currently 1:44am and I think this is just enough for a first impression review. Please leave a comment! 🙂

STAY TUNED FOR MY DETAILED REVIEW & ANALYSIS

PRO TIP: Watch the credits that supply you with more  information and one extra scene.

The movie on Rotten Tomatoes

Leave a Reply

